I checked my bank statement today and saw the following line: 9/25/2007 CEL JESUS CHRIST $35.72 I'm not a Christian, so there is no way my money is going to something with JESUS CHRIST in the title. I found a really phony looking site at celjesuschrist.net (I'm not going to link it to increase its search engine relevance). Here is the WHOIS information: Domain Name: CELJESUSCHRIST.NET >>> Last update of whois database: Mon, 1 Oct 2007 08:37:29 UTC <<< The fishy thing here that you'll notice is that the domain was purchased around the same time as this fraudulent charge was posted to my account. Did my credit card number somehow get stolen? Is this some new scam or phishing scheme? I'm not sure yet, but it smells phishy to me. I'm mainly posting this with the hopes that it will show up with similar or higher relevance than their website to warn others. If anyone has any insight on this, post here or use the contact page to get in touch with me. I'll post more when I find anything out. Disillusion is on the case.
|
|||